Reflections on connecting with the creative muse.

Trust Your Instincts

“Creativity comes from trust. Trust your instincts.” — Rita Mae Brown

I saw this quote today and it got me to musing.  As I read back over some of my posts I think that in one way or another I’ve been saying what Rita Mae Brown has said here in yet another way.

I guess you can hear a truth – stare at a truth in print – know a truth in your head, and yet not fully accept it in your heart.

I’m as guilty as the next guy of seeking affirmation of the quality of what I create from others. Nine people can tell you how wonderful your creation is but the focus goes to that tenth person.  You know, the one who criticized your work – the one who didn’t like it. Why is that?  And, for that matter, why should it matter at all?

Teaching, coaching and the encouragement of those who guide us in our art is helpful.  But ultimately when the skills have been learned and honed – it’s the creativity within us to which we give expression.  And, in that instinct we must be boldly confident and move forward.

Where am I in this continuum?  In many ways still learning and still honing my skills.  In truth, I really hope that I never reach a point where I have nothing new to learn; nothing new to improve.  However, in those things I know and in the basic creative instinct within me to which I’m giving expression, I need to give up the insecurity and confidently move forward.

Thank you, Rita Mae Brown, for reminding me: “Creativity comes from trust. Trust your instincts.”

Comments on: "Trust Your Instincts" (1)

  1. Wallace Studios said:

    There is a place in our body that just knows. I like to think it’s God talking. Rita Me Brown is correct. For me it’s not a matter of trust, it’s a matter of listening.

Leave a Reply

